MPA Accreditations

Which MPA Accreditation Do You Need?

Each part of the industry requires a certain accreditation for MPA degrees. Each has a different specialty, be it region, field, or level of institution, and can be valued in different ways by employers. Make sure your program is properly accredited with this list of common MPA accreditations.

National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration

The National Association of Schools of Public Affairs and Administration is known for its accreditation of the Public Administration field and is nationally recognized as a standard for MPA programs, though not the only important accreditation for the field. The main function of the NASPAA is to accredit graduate programs and oversee coursework for them in order to uphold the standard of excellent public service.

Association of MBAs

The Association of MBAs accredits business programs all over the world. Their degree programs look to create skilled business people. Their members are located in various different regions around the world.

“The Association of MBAs is the only international professional body connecting MBA students and graduates, hundreds of accredited business schools and MBA employers in over 110 countries. The Association of MBAs provides services that support the continuous professional development of our members through educating, informing and linking MBAs.”

Council on Education for Public Health

The Council on Education for Public Health is an accrediting council that overlooks Public Health degrees at various different institutions throughout the United States. This accreditation’s focus on specific programs allows them to ensure that the best Public Health curriculum is being provided.  

The Council on Education for Public Health is “An independent agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education to accredit schools of public health and public health programs outside schools of public health.

European Quality Improvement Systems

The European Quality Improvement Systems is an accreditation organization that focuses on all levels of business related degrees. In their accreditations, they determine the quality of the education by its relevance to the modern business world.

“EQUIS is not primarily focused on the MBA or any other specific programme. Its scope covers all programmes offered by an institution from the first degree up to the Ph.D. EQUIS looks for a balance between high academic quality and the professional relevance provided by close interaction with the corporate world. A strong interface with the world of business is, therefore, as much a requirement as a strong research potential. EQUIS attaches particular importance to the creation of an effective learning environment that favours the development of students’ managerial and entrepreneurial skills, and fosters their sense of global responsibility. It also looks for innovation in all respects, including programme design and pedagogy.Institutions that are accredited by EQUIS must demonstrate not only high general quality in all dimensions of their activities, but also a high degree of internationalisation.”

Higher Learning Commission

The Higher Learning Commission oversees and accredits more than 1,000 different institutions throughout the country.Their dedication to education is what sets them apart from dozens of other accreditations. The commission is compiled of a Board of Trustees who focus primarily on the wellbeing of students.

“The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation that was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region.” HLC’s mission is, “Serving the common good by assuring and advancing the quality of higher learning.”

Middle States Commissions on Higher Education

The Middle States Commissions on Higher Education is a group that accredits many different institutions regionally. Their job is to oversee different universities and make sure their coursework is current for each degree program. Members of the MSCHE are located in the eastern part of the United States and smaller surrounding countries.

“The Middle States Commission on Higher Education is a voluntary, non-governmental, regional membership association currently serving higher education institutions in Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, and other geographic areas in which the Commission conducts accrediting activities.”

New England Association of Schools and Colleges

The New England Association of Schools and Colleges is an accrediting body that monitors thousands of schools in the United States and globally. They focus on educational excellence from a primary to a doctoral level. The NEASC’s guidelines allow them to put their energy into improving education for all.

“NEASC is an independent, voluntary, nonprofit membership organization which connects and serves over 2,000 public and independent schools, technical/career institutions, colleges and universities in New England plus International Schools in more than 65 nations worldwide. A globally recognized standard of excellence, NEASC Accreditation attests to a school’s high quality and integrity. NEASC is comprised of four commissions which decide matters of accreditation in the context of research-driven standards reviewed by their membership.”

Western Association of Schools and Colleges

The Western Association of Schools and Colleges overseas a plethora of educational institutions. These institutions include educations that are primary, secondary, and postsecondary. WASC is committed to providing the best level of education for your educational journey.

The Accrediting Commission for Schools, Western Association of Schools and Colleges (ACS WASC), a world-renowned accrediting association and one of the six regional accrediting agencies in the United States, works closely with the Office of Overseas Schools under the U.S. Department of State. ACS WASC provides assistance to schools worldwide, primarily in California, Hawaii, Guam, Asia, the Pacific Region, the Middle East, Africa, and Europe. The Accrediting Commission for Schools, WASC, extends its services to over 4,600 public, independent, church-related, and proprietary pre-K–12 and adult schools, works with 18 associations in joint accreditation processes, and collaborates with other organizations such as the California Department of Education (CDE).”